Check the DM’s

It’s been quite a while since I’ve had one of those really vivid dreams that I still remember when I wake up, or the ones that wake me from my sleep. This morning I had one.

In my dream I remember getting a call from a male friend telling me that he had checked the messages of his s/o (significant other) and he found that she had been unfaithful to him. I’m not sure if that meant physically or just that she had been chatting and interacting with another man in ways that were inappropriate for their relationship.

Anyway, he seemed so heart broken as he told me what he had found and was devastated. So much that the had not reached out to tell me until a few weeks or maybe a month or so after he found out. He asked me what he should do because their relationship had been rocky almost from the jump, and he had considered leaving her not too long ago anyway. He asked if things were worth fighting for, was there anything worth saving. My only answer to him was “I can’t answer that for you”, he somewhat tearfully then said “have I been fighting to save something for all these months that wasn’t supposed to be, did I get into this relationship because I wanted to be in one and she fit the picture I had in my head”. I again replied “I can’t answer that, only you know the answers”.

I was heartbroken for my friend and wanted to be there to help him through this period and to comfort him, yet I also didn’t want to cross any boundaries because I think I’m already pretty much persona non-grata or off limits for him to interact with as friends – which sucks.

I remember the words and the feeling and hope that he is ok.

Leave a Reply

