We don’t do public affection

(This was a dream from January 2015)

I had the craziest dream in the early/mid morning hours. Before I get into it, let me paint the scene and people involved (names of places and people have been changed for obvious reasons):

1. Scene: In an office building (did I work there? It seemed familiar and comfortable to me). The building seemed to remind me of the Big Cable Building (which I have never been in, so I’m not sure why it reminded me of it) or Freedom Place with the main level full of small sit-down restaurants and shops and shop-carts lining the outside walkway of the main level, with desks for working. It was modern and nice.

2. People: Me, Dante and Will (who looked just like Dante’s friend at Big Bank) and Isis. Everyone was dressed pretty casual. Dante in a white t-shirt and jeans, Will in a dark colored suit and I don’t remember what Isis had on. I was in a white t-shirt and sweats (my favorite ones that stop under the knee and are form fitting).

3. Here’s what happened: I was in the building walking around, it must have been a different day because the clothes I had on were a little more dressy and I was actually looking at the art and browsing. As I was doing so, I saw Dante and Isis in one of the restaurants. I stopped for a second and thought about going over to say hi, but then the following thoughts crossed my mind: “It might be a work thing, so don’t disturb” and “hmm, they look really comfortable or I guess more like they were having a pretty intense or private conversation, so again don’t disturb” and lastly “hmm, she just reached for his hand, so it’s probably a personal conversation and it’s not my place to get mad, he and I aren’t dating, so don’t disturb”. So I left. Kind of upset or in my feelings so to speak. Later we, (me and Dante) were in my care and he left behind some keys. So fast forward a bit, and I’m back at the building but this time I’m in the sweats (as described above) and sitting at a desk doing some work on my laptop. I get up to stretch my legs a bit and behold, who do I spot in the restaurant again – Dante and Isis. This time looking even cozier than the last time. This time I don’t really care what the reason for the “meeting” is. I walk over to them, put the keys down on the table in front of him and leave without saying a word. I don’t know if my face looked angry, bothered or what it looked like. After doing that I go back to my desk and start working again. Some time later I’m looking at a piece of paper for RANDOM (some not to be named nonprofit) (I can see the logo) when suddenly someone grabs (kind of gently pulls) the paper out of my hand. I look up and it’s Isis standing there with Dante and Will. She says “we need to talk”. I replied back “no we don’t. whatever he (referring to Dante) does is his business. I’m not his girlfriend, and we’re not dating. He’s free to do whatever he wants with whomever he wants. I’m not mad at him. I don’t know what you two are doing, but he’s free to do whatever. Those are his keys, he left in my car and I’m just returning to them and going about my own business.” She the proceeds to tell me that she’s Will’s girlfriend and has been for the past 6 years. They’re going thru a rough spot and Dante was doing some kind of mediation, running some interference to talk with her. Will was meeting them later (which he did) and then she talked about what they were going through and all I really heard was blah blah blah. I didn’t care or need to know this stuff. I didn’t know these people and didn’t need to know their business. I responded back to her “that’s great. those are his keys and I assume he needs them so I returned them.” She then continues to talk and again all I hear is blah blah blah, while thinking about all the work I should be doing, if not for her/their interrupting me. Suddenly out of nowhere Dante grabs my hand. In my head my only thought is ‘what’s going on, we don’t do this, we don’t do public and we definitely don’t do public affection’. And then I woke up.

(I don’t like not knowing how the stories in my dreams end).

Leave a Reply

